Sunday, 24 March 2019

More Awards News - Aurealis Series and Tiptree

I am a little slow posting this news, but I didn't want it to pass without mention. Not long ago, I posted about the Aurealis Awards short list. The shortlist for the Sara Douglass series award came out a bit later and, though I missed it at the time, I wanted to share it with you all. This is only the second time the Best Series Aurealis will be awarded, so it's very interesting to look at the composition of the shortlist. (You can see the first shortlist at the bottom of this page.) I've included this year's shortlist below, and you can also see it here.

The other award which was recently announced is the Tiptree Award. This one is a bit unusual in that they announce the winner, an honour list and a long list all in one go. The winner this year is Gabriela Damián Miravete for her short story “They Will Dream In the Garden”. You can read the Honour and Long List at the Tiptree website.

2018 Sara Douglass Book Series Award shortlist

Blackthorn & Grim [Dreamer’s Pool (2014), Tower of Thorns (2015), Den of Wolves (2016)], Juliet Marillier (Pan Macmillan Australia)

Captive Prince [Captive Prince (2014), Prince’s Gambit (2014), Kings Rising (2016)], C S Pacat (Penguin Random House)

Electric Empire [The Diabolical Miss Hyde (2015), The Devious Dr Jekyll (2015), The Dastardly Miss Lizzie (2017)], Viola Carr (HarperCollins Publishers)

The Fire Sermon [The Fire Sermon (2015), The Map of Bones (2016), The Forever Ship (2017)], Francesca Haig (HarperCollins Publishers)

Zeroes [Zeroes (2015), Swarm (2016), Nexus (2017)], Deborah Biancotti, Margo Lanagan & Scott Westerfeld (Allen & Unwin)

No comments:

Post a comment